Home > General > Trying Too Hard??

Trying Too Hard??

I like to think of myself as someone with lots to say, lots of ideas, and lots of work to do. I want to be a blogger. I want to share my thoughts with the world. But very seldom can I come up with a post topic. There is so much going on, I could write about any number of things. Am I afraid my opinion doesn’t matter? Am I afraid that no one is going to read this? Why is it so hard to just write? I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I read so many blogs and everything I have to say has already been said. I hate repeats. I would rehash topics but I don’t think my opinion is so different it warrants its own post. I think I’m trying too hard. I’ve got to figure this blogging thing out.

Categories: General Tags: ,
  1. June 5, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Sue, I think each person has to find his or her own voice–whether blogging or just talking to colleagues or friends.

    My own mantra is that my blog is for me. It’s where I think out loud. I keep it centered on a few broad areas (training, learning, science of the brain), but I also have a category for “generic musing” and one called “side trips.”

    I’m delighted when people read and take part, but the most I do to make that happen is to join in elsewhere, reading and commenting on other blogs. That reading often provides the yeast for my own reactions.

    • Sue
      June 5, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      Thank you for that Dave. 🙂 I try to tell myself, I’m not trying to impress anyone but I think I get caught up too often in how brilliant I think other people are and I want to be like them. I just need to remember, I’m not like them. Blogging might not be my thing but I do enjoy it. So I just need to not push it so much I guess.

      Thank you again for you comment, it means a lot to me.

  2. dstev
    June 9, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I struggle with the same issue of wanting to impress, and I don’t realize I’ve fallen into “essay contest” mode until I’ve already composed the entry. Irconically, I am more impressive, or atleast less contrived, when I am sincere & natural.

    So, if you’ll allow me to give myself advice on your blog, I’m going to offer these rules, 1) Post when you feel strongly about something, NOT for the sake of having written. 2) If you don’t feel strongly about something, then post asking others to guide you through something that confuses you. 3) If there’s not something you feel strongly enough to post, and there’s nothing that confuses you enough to seek help, then use your blog as a journal to clarify your own thinking.

    Lastly, if none of these rules apply, then go to 4) Don’t post anything. Instead, read. Read bloggers that challenge you and interest you. If you a confident without passion, have no questions, and need no clarity, then you simply aren’t engaged.

    Alas, if none of this applies, maybe it’s just time to step outside and breath.

    Then repeaa

    • Sue
      June 9, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      Excellent advice!!
      It’s also good to know I’m not alone in my struggles. I’m hoping one of these days my competitive nature curbs itself slightly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

